Five candidates will be on the ballot for the Homer Electric Association, Inc. (HEA) Board of Directors’ 2019 election. The deadline to apply for a seat on the board was March 1, 2019.

HEA directors are elected by the members in their respective district, with members voting only for the candidates residing in their district.

This year, the following candidates are seeking election to the  HEA board:

  • In District 1 (Kenai – Nikiski – parts of Soldotna area), incumbent Dan Chay of Kenai is running unopposed.
  • In District 2 (Soldotna – Sterling – Kasilof), the candidates are incumbent Ed Oberts of Soldotna and Ed Schmitt of Soldotna.
  • In District 3 (Kasilof south to Kachemak Bay area), the candidates are Erin McKittrick of Seldovia and Gregory Martin of Homer.

The ballots will be mailed to HEA members on April 1, 2019. Completed mail-in ballots must be received by mail no later than May 1, 2019, for validation. If HEA members are unable to complete a mail-in ballot, members will also have an opportunity to vote at the 2019 Annual Meeting of the Members, which will be held May 2, 2019 at Kenai Central High School.

Click below to view our 2019 Board of Directors’ Candidate Resumes.Click on the map to view our interactive district map.

2015 HEA District Map