HEA Board Election Update

Six candidates will be on the ballot for the Homer Electric Association, Inc. (HEA) Board of Directors’ 2017 election. The deadline to apply for a seat on the board was March 3, 2017.
HEA directors are elected by the members in their respective district, with members voting only for the candidates residing in their district. This year, the following candidates are seeking election to the HEA board:
• In District 1 (Kenai – Nikiski- parts of Soldotna area), the candidates are incumbent Kelly J. Bookey of Kenai and Kate Veh of Soldotna.
• In District 2 (Soldotna – Sterling – Kasilof), the candidates are incumbent Richard “Dick” Waisanen of Soldotna and Daniel N. Furlong of Soldotna.
• In District 3 (Kasilof south to Kachemak Bay area), the candidates are incumbent Eugene Alan “Jim” Levine of Homer and Doug Stark of Homer.
Candidate information is available on HEA’s website at www.homerelectric.com. The ballots will be mailed to HEA members on April 3, 2017. Completed mail-in ballots must be received in the mail by May 3, 2017, for validation. If HEA members are unable to complete a mail-in ballot, members will also have an opportunity to vote at the 2017 Annual Meeting of the Members, which will be held May 4, 2017 at Soldotna High School.
For more details about the election and the Annual Meeting of the Members, please contact HEA at 800-478-8551 or our website at www.homerelectric.com.

For additional information regarding this press release, please call Bruce Shelley at 283-2324.