HEA Members Elect Directors at 2016 Annual Meeting

Homer Electric Association members elected three directors at the cooperative’s Annual Meeting of the Members in Kenai on May 4, 2016.

In District 1 (Kenai – Nikiski – parts of Soldotna area), incumbent director Dan Chay of Kenai ran uncontested and received 781 votes

In District 2 (Soldotna – Sterling- Kasilof area), incumbent director Ed Oberts of Soldotna also ran uncontested and received 978 votes.

In District 3 (South Kasilof – Kachemak Bay area), incumbent director Bill Fry of Homer received 900 votes and Stephen J. Pollack III garnered 404 votes.

The Annual Meeting drew a crowd of over 250 people. The meeting featured informational booths with an emphasis on HEA services and programs.

The Annual Meeting also featured the winners of Homer Electric’s Safety Poster Contest, Youth Rally selections and HEA Scholarship Program recipients.

Safety Poster Contest
HEA’s annual Safety Poster Contest elevates awareness of electrical energy by challenging 3rd and 4th graders to think about the benefits, as well as potential hazards, associated with electric use. Students are encouraged to create a safety message that can be expressed through art.

Kendyl Cannava, 4th Grade at Soldotna Elementary School

Evelyn Giver, 4th Grade at Kalifornsky Beach Elementary School

Lucas Story, 4th Grade at McNeil Canyon Elementary

Youth Rally
The Youth Rally is a week long summer camp specifically tailored for high school students in grades 10 and 11, designed to develop leadership skills, foster teamwork, strengthen communication techniques, highlight the unique qualities of electric cooperatives and increase awareness regarding important issues faced by the utility industry. The Youth Rally is held in Idaho and is a joint effort between statewide co-ops and the National Rural Electric Cooperative.

Brian Dusek, 11th Grade at Soldotna High School
Leah Johnson, 10th Grade at Kenai Central High School

Scholarship Program
HEA’s Scholarship Program is an outreach investment opportunity available to high school seniors and adults in pursuit of higher education. The award value and scholarship quantity is determined annually by the Board of Directors and funded by the interest earned on unclaimed capital credits.

David Beck of  Kenai Central High School
Nolan Bunting of Homer High School
Victoria Cizek of Cook Inlet Academy
Kayla Haeg of Soldotna High School
Shenandoah Lush of Homer High School
Aziza Pitcher of Homer High School
Tisha Lovett of Homer High School
Mikaela Salzetti of Kenai Central High School
Jeanelee Stock of Nikiski High School
Halen Wells of Soldotna High School

Stan Holguin of District 1
Carron Ann Murray of District 2
Stephen Severson of District 2