Homer Electric Association Members Elect Directors at 2015 Annual Meeting

Homer Electric Association members elected three directors at the cooperative’s Annual Meeting of the Members in Homer on May 7, 2015.

In District 1 (Kenai – Nikiski – parts of Soldotna area), incumbent director David B. Thomas of Kenai ran uncontested and received 781 votes

In District 2 (Soldotna – Sterling- Kasilof area), incumbent director Dave Carey of Soldotna was re-elected with 942 votes and Andrew Alexandrou received 276 votes.

In District 3 (South Kasilof – Kachemak Bay area), Don Stead of Homer received 766 votes, Jim Levine had 552 votes, and Joe Singleton garnered 211 votes.

The Annual Meeting drew a crowd of over 250 people. The meeting featured informational booths with an emphasis on HEA services and programs.

In addition to the HEA booths, a representative from the Kenai Peninsula Borough’s Office of Emergency Management provided information on ways for individuals to prepare for disasters as well as help themselves, neighbors, and community in the event of a disaster.

The Annual Meeting also featured the winners of Homer Electric’s Safety Poster Contest, Youth Rally selections and HEA Scholarship Program recipients.

Safety Poster Contest
HEA’s annual Safety Poster Contest elevates awareness of electrical energy by challenging 3rd and 4th graders to think about the benefits, as well as potential hazards, associated with electric use. Students are encouraged to create a safety message that can be expressed through art.

Avrie Medina, 4th Grade K-Beach Elementary

Emilia Rodriguez, 3rd Grade K-Beach Elementary

Lucas Story, 3rd Grade McNeil Canyon Elementary

Youth Rally
The Youth Rally is a week long summer camp specifically tailored for high school students in grades 10 and 11, designed to develop leadership skills, foster teamwork, strengthen communication techniques, highlight the unique qualities of electric cooperatives and increase awareness regarding important issues faced by the utility industry. The Youth Rally is held in Idaho and is a joint effort between statewide co-ops and the National Rural Electric Cooperative.

Michael Lewis, 11th Grade Soldotna High School
Jackson Blackwell, 10th Grade Soldotna High School

Scholarship Program
HEA’s Scholarship Program is an outreach investment opportunity available to high school seniors and adults in pursuit of higher education. The award value and scholarship quantity is determined annually by the Board of Directors and funded by the interest earned on unclaimed capital credits.

Hailey Ames of Soldotna High School
Ajiel Basmayor of Ninilchik School
Justin Dahlgren of Soldotna High School
Ali Dusek of Soldotna High School
Claire Kincaid  of Soldotna High School
Sabina Kryshak-Karwowski of Homer High School
Tisha Lovett of Homer High School
Kirsten Nyquist of Kenai Central High School
Madison Orth of Cook Inlet Academy

Dagmar Badger of District 2
Karmen Classen of District 3
Clara Noomah of District 3