Every year, HEA’s Scholarship Committee awards a number of academic or vocational scholarships for an amount to be determined by the Board of Directors each calendar year.

The scholarships are available for students of all ages – both graduating seniors and adults wishing  to continue their education.
Scholarship recipients are selected in April and are recognized at the HEA Annual Membership Meeting in May. To qualify, students (or their parent or guardian) must be a member of HEA.  Dependents of members must be eligible for the Permanent Fund Dividend.

Scholarships are funded through the interest earned on unclaimed capital credits and they do not affect electric rates.


Deadline is March 1, 2018. 

If you have questions, please call Tanya Lautaret at 907.283.2305 or email at

2017 Scholarship Recipients

High School Senior Category
District 1
  • Eric Kempf – Kenai Central High School
  • Avery Kornstad – Nikiski High School
  • Mackenzie Lindeman – Kenai Central High School

District 2

  • Chloe Kincaid – Soldotna High School
  • Annie Quinn – Soldotna High School
  • Jonathan Standerfer – Soldotna High School

District 3

  • Alicia Steiner – Homer High School
  • Juan Sarmiento – Homer High School
  • Eric Super – Homer High School

Returning Students

  • Roxanne Huzieff
  • Tisha Lovett
  • Kathrine Quelland