Nomination period is open for seats on Homer Electric Association’s Board of Directors

Posted: January 20, 2021 at 5:14 pm

Homer Electric Association (HEA) is accepting nominations from members interested in running for a seat on the cooperative’s board of directors.

The cooperative’s board consists of nine directors, three from each of the three Kenai Peninsula service area districts.

This year, the District 1 (Kenai-Nikiski-parts of Soldotna) seat currently held by HEA Board of Director David Thomas will be on the ballot. Director Thomas will not run in this year’s election as his term limit has ended. In District 2 (Soldotna-Sterling-Kasilof area), the seat currently held by HEA’s Board of Director Dave Carey will be up for election. Director Carey’s term limit has also ended. In District 3 (Kasilof-Homer-Seldovia area), HEA members will vote for the seat currently held by HEA Board of Director Roy Champagne.

HEA directors are elected by district, with members voting only for the director in their respective district.

Members interested in putting their name on the ballot must fill out a Candidacy Packet that requires the candidate to gather at least 15 signatures from current HEA members that live in the district where the candidate resides. The Candidacy Packet is also available at HEA offices in Kenai and Homer.

The deadline to submit the Candidacy Packet is 5 PM on Friday, March 5, 2021. Completed packets can be submitted at either the Kenai or Homer HEA offices.

Ballots will be mailed to HEA members on April 5, 2021, and the results will be tabulated and announced at the Virtual Annual Meeting of the Members on May 6, 2021.

HEA Candidacy Packet