Nomination Period for Seats on HEA’s Board of Directors Ends March 5

Posted: February 22, 2021 at 9:19 am

Homer Electric Association (HEA) is still accepting nominations from members interested in running for
a seat on the cooperative’s board of directors. Time is running out, please get those completed candidate packages into us by 5 PM, March 5, 2021.

The cooperative’s board consists of nine directors, three from each of the three Kenai Peninsula service area districts.

This year, the District 1 (Kenai-Nikiski-parts of Soldotna) seat currently held by HEA Board of
Director David Thomas will be on the ballot. Director Thomas will not run in this year’s election as
his term limit has ended. In District 2 (Soldotna-Sterling-Kasilof area), the seat currently held by
HEA’s Board of Director Dave Carey will be up for election. Director Carey’s term limit has also
ended. In District 3 (Kasilof-Homer-Seldovia area), HEA members will vote for the seat currently held by HEA Board of Director Roy Champagne.

HEA directors are elected by district, with members voting only for the director in their respective

Members interested in putting their name on the ballot must fill out a Candidacy Packet that requires the candidate to gather at least 15 signatures from current HEA members that live in the district where the candidate resides. The Candidacy Packet is available at HEA offices in Kenai and Homer and
online at

Again, the deadline to submit the Candidacy Packet is 5 PM on Friday, March 5, 2021. Completed
Packets can be submitted at either the Kenai or Homer HEA offices.

Ballots will be mailed to HEA members on April 5, 2021, and the results will be tabulated and
announced at the Virtual Annual Meeting of the Members on May 6, 2021.