HEA Members Elect 2021 Board of Directors

May 6, 2021 – Homer Electric Association, Inc. (HEA) members elected three directors to represent each district of HEA’s service territory. There were 5,175 mail ballots cast, with 234 ballots voided and 40 ineligible ballots. There was a total of 4,941 ballots counted.

In District 1 (Kenai/Nikiski/parts of Soldotna area), Charles M. (Mike) Chenault of Kenai received 580 votes, Wayne Ogle of Kenai received 417 votes, Erik Hendrickson of Nikiski received 210 votes, and Joseph A. Ross of Nikiski received 104 votes. There were 12 write-in votes. HEA members elected Charles M. (Mike) Chenault to represent District 1.

In District 2 (Soldotna/Sterling/Kasilof), Ed Schmitt of Soldotna received 471 votes and ran against Robert Wall of Sterling who received 1,076 votes. There were 15 write-in votes for District 2. Voters elected Robert K. Wall to represent District 2.

In District 3 (South Kasilof/Kachemak Bay area) incumbent Roy Champagne of Anchor Point received 735 votes and ran against Louie Flora of Homer who received 1,269 votes. There were 12 write-in votes. Members elected Louie Flora to represent District 3.

HEA Board of Directors’ District Map

View our Interactive Voting District Map here.