Every year, HEA’s Scholarship Committee awards a number of academic or vocational scholarships for an amount to be determined by the Board of Directors each calendar year.

The scholarships are available for students of all ages – both graduating seniors and adults wishing to continue their education.
Scholarship recipients are selected in April and are recognized at the HEA Annual Membership Meeting in May. To qualify, students (or their parent or guardian) must be a member of HEA. Dependents of members must be eligible for the Permanent Fund Dividend. Scholarships are funded through the interest earned on unclaimed capital credits and they do not affect electric rates.

Download the 2021 Scholarship Packet and submit the completed application by March 1, 2021 to be eligible for one of HEA’s scholarships!

Congratulations to the 2020 Scholarship recipients!

2020 Scholarship Recipients – High School Senior Category

District 1

Hunter Beck – Kenai Central High School
Joshua Foster – Kenai Central High School
Kaitlyn Johnson – Nikiski High School

District 2

Whitney Benson – Soldotna High School
Eve Downing – Soldotna High School
Janna Krieger – Soldotna High School

District 3

Sophia Klaich – Nikolaevsk School
Anthony Melkomukov – Homer High School
Antonin Murachev – Kachemak Selo School

Returning Student

Adam Alderson
Anastacia Dorvall
Jason Hunter