2023 HEA Board Election Candidates

Six candidates will be on the ballot for the Homer Electric Association, Inc. (HEA) Board of Directors’ 2023 election. The deadline to apply for a seat on the board was March 3, 2023.

HEA directors are elected by the members in their respective district, with members voting only for the candidates residing in their district. This year, the following candidates are seeking election to the HEA board:

  • In District 1 (Kenai – Nikiski – parts of Soldotna area), the candidates are James (Jim) Duffield of Kenai and Robert F. Ernst of Nikiski.
  • In District 2 (Soldotna – Sterling – Kasilof), the candidates are Dan Green of Soldotna and C.O. Rudstrom from Soldotna.
  • In District 3 (Kasilof south to Kachemak Bay area), the candidates are Michael L. Jones of Homer and Eugene A. (Jim) Levine of Homer.

The Election will open for voting on March 31, 2023. HEA will offer three methods of casting a ballot for the board elections. Once voting opens, members may cast their ballot: (1) by returning the mail-in ballot; (2) through HEA’s online voting portal; or (3) in person at the Annual Meeting on May 4, 2023. The results will be tabulated and announced at the Annual Meeting of the Members on May 4, 2023, at Soldotna High School, 425 W. Marydale Ave., Soldotna, AK.