Updated March 11,2022 - Eight candidates will be on the ballot for the Homer Electric Association, Inc. (HEA) Board of Directors’ 2022 election. The deadline to apply for a seat on the board was March 4, 2022.

HEA directors are elected by the members in their respective district, with members voting only for the candidates residing in their district. This year, the following candidates are seeking election to the HEA board:

  • In District 1 (Kenai – Nikiski – parts of Soldotna area), the candidates are ­­­­­­­Daniel Hyman of Soldotna, Summer Lazenby of Soldotna, and Wayne H. Ogle of Nikiski.
  • In District 2 (Soldotna – Sterling – Kasilof), the candidate running for District 2 is Daniel Furlong from Soldotna.
  • In District 3 (Kasilof south to Kachemak Bay area), the candidates are Troy Jones of Homer, Lonnie Lambert of Ninilchik, Erin McKittrick of Seldovia, and Dr. Douglas Stark of Homer.

HEA board election information is available on HEA’s website at https://www.homerelectric.com/my-cooperative/board-of-directors/elections/.

The ballots will be mailed to HEA members on April 4, 2022. Completed mail-in ballots must be received by mail no later than 5 PM on May 3, 2022, for validation. Please submit your vote in the mail early.

There may also be an opportunity to cast your vote in-person at the Annual Meeting if COVID-19 infection rates within the service territory remain low. While it is our plan to host an in-person Annual Meeting, because of the ongoing pandemic, we cannot guarantee an in-person voting option and therefore, we strongly encourage all members to vote by mail.

For more details about the election and the Annual Meeting of the Members, please contact HEA at 800-478-8551.