Every year, HEA’s Scholarship Committee awards a number of academic or vocational scholarships for an amount to be determined by the Board of Directors each calendar year.

The scholarships are available for students of all ages – both graduating seniors and adults wishing  to continue their education.
Scholarship recipients are selected in April and are recognized at the HEA Annual Membership Meeting in May. To qualify, students (or their parent or guardian) must be a member of HEA.  Dependents of members must be eligible for the Permanent Fund Dividend.

Scholarships are funded through the interest earned on unclaimed capital credits and they do not affect electric rates.

Deadline was March 1, 2019 and recipients will be notified in April. If you have questions, please call Tanya Lautaret at 907.283.2305 or email at

2018 Scholarship Recipients
High School Senior Category

District 1
Verity Feltman – Kenai Central High School
Natalie Marlowe – Kenai Central High School
Melanie Sexton – Nikiski High School

District 2
Jode Sparks – Soldotna High School
Chanelle Usvat – Cook Inlet Academy
Hannah Wells – Soldotna High School

District 3
Landon Bunting – Homer High School
Anastacia Dorvall – Nikolaevsk School
Charles Menke – Homer High School

Returning Student
Andrew Smith – District 1
Halen Wells – District 2
Michelle Wicker – District 2